The AMF Scientific Advisory Board Conference, "ICOs, crypto-assets: what future? What regulatory framework?" will be held on June 7, 2018 at the Maison du Barreau (2 rue de Harlay – Paris 1st arr.)

Since the founding article of Satoshi Nakamoto in 2008, the development of the blockchain technology has been accompanied by the creation of a multitude of virtual currencies. More recently, the technology has found a new outlet in project financing. For nearly two years now, the number of fundraisings through initial coin offering (ICO) transactions has increased. Initially reserved for a niche community, they now address a broader public. And while all ICOs involve the issue of tokens, from one offering to the next the tokens do not automatically confer the same rights to subscribers (user rights relative to the developed service, financial and/or governance rights relative to the project).
 
This new trend poses a number of questions as to the legal nature of these protean “assets”, their underlying fundamental value and their regulation. Given the absence of specific regulation, the AMF launched a consultation on a potential supervisory framework in the autumn of 2017. It has also decided to devote its 2018 Scientific Advisory Board conference to this topic.
 
What are an ICO’s criteria for success? How are the crypto-assets issued through such transactions valued? Could these crypto-assets prove useful in portfolio management strategies? These are just some of the subjects of academic research which will be addressed at the conference. The event will also feature a debate on regulation.

Le colloque du Conseil scientifique de l’AMF, « ICO, crypto-actifs : quel avenir et quelle régulation ? » aura lieu le jeudi 7 juin 2018 à la Maison du Barreau (2 rue de Harlay – Paris 1er)

Depuis l’article fondateur de Satoshi Nakamoto de 2008, le développement de la technologie blockchain s’est accompagné de la création d’une multitude de monnaies virtuelles. Plus récemment, cette technologie a trouvé un nouvel usage dans le financement de projets. Depuis près de deux ans, les levées de fonds via des opérations d’initial coin offerings (ICO) se sont multipliées. Dans un premier temps réservé à une communauté restreinte, elles s’orientent désormais vers un public plus large. Et si toutes donnent lieu à l’émission de jetons (ou tokens), d’une ICO à l’autre, ces jetons ne confèrent pas systématiquement les mêmes droits (droits d’usage du service développé, droits financiers et/ou de gouvernance sur le projet, etc.) à leurs souscripteurs.
 
Cette tendance nouvelle n’est pas sans poser un certain nombre de questions autour de la nature juridique de « ces actifs » protéiformes, la réalité économique sous-jacente, et leur régulation. En l’absence de règlementation spécifique, l’AMF a lancé à l’automne 2017 une consultation sur un encadrement éventuel. Elle a également décidé de consacrer l’édition 2018 du  colloque de son conseil scientifique à cette thématique.
 
Quels sont les critères de succès d’une ICO ? Comment sont valorisés les crypto-actifs émis à travers ces opérations ? Ces crypto-actifs pourraient-ils avoir un intérêt dans le cadre de stratégies de  gestion de portefeuille ? Voici quelques-unes des questions nouvelles sur lesquelles se penche la recherche académique et qui seront traitées à l’occasion de la matinée. Le colloque sera également l’occasion d’un débat sur la régulation.